Hall of Fame ceremony part of 90th anniversary events

By Randy Paterson

The Woodrow Wilson High School Alumni Association will induct 14 distinguished individuals into the Woodrow Wilson High School Hall of Fame on Oct. 26. 

Photo courtesy of Woodrow Wilson High School

This is the school’s highest honor recognizing alumni, faculty and staff who have made significant contributions in their personal and professional lives or who have made extraordinary contributions towards the continued excellence of Woodrow Wilson High School. The Woodrow Wilson High School Hall of Fame induction ceremony will occur at 11 a.m. at the school, 100 S. Glasgow, as part of the school’s 90th anniversary celebration. 

The Woodrow Wilson High School Hall of Fame was established in 1989 in celebration of the school’s 60th anniversary. New members are inducted every five or 10 years. Currently, 109 individuals have been awarded this prestigious distinction. 

The following individuals are 2019 inductees into Woodrow Wilson High School Hall of Fame:

Marca Lee Bircher 

(Teacher 1975-2003)  

Jarrell Gibbs 

(Class Of 1956)

Paul Goodrich 

(Class Of 1966) 

Paul Harris 

(Principal 1964 – 1970) 

Miriam Hiser 

(Class Of 1979) 

Richard Maximoff 

(Class Of 1961) 

Dixon M. Moody 

(Class Of 1955) 

Perry Nichols 

(Class Of 1929). 

Michael Orozco 

(Class Of 1991) 

Lawrence Payne 

(Class Of 1969)  

George Royster 

(Teacher 1936-1967) 

Richard Vitale 

(Class Of 1991) 

Alfloyd Williams, Jr. 

(Class Of 1982) 

Gerald Worrall, III 

(Class Of 1974)

Current members of the Woodrow Wilson High School Hall of Fame: 

1989 Inductees – Ruth Collins Altshuler Sharp, Dr. Floyd Bloom, Tim Brown,  Dr. Charles Max Cole, Jim Collins, Trammell Crow, Jack Evans, Ralph Guldahl, Jim Mattox, Geraldine “Tincy” Erwin Miller, M.T. “Buddy” Minyard, David “Davey” O’Brien, Thomas R. Phillips, Wallace Savage, Carroll Shelby, Dr. Tom Shires, Rowland Wolfe.

1990 Inductees – Richard Berezden, Walter Evans, Al Haynes, Jerry Haynes, Samuel “Sam” Johnson, William Kieschnick, Jr., Malcolm Kutner, Alton Lister, Dr. Percy Lueke, Jr., William C. McCord, Nancy Armour Neeld, William H. Seay, Charles W. Tessmer, Joel T. Williams. 

1999 Inductees – Billy Andrews, Sam Blair, Stephen Cargile, Al Carrell, Pat Evans, Bill Forester, Hershel Forester, Lou Freeman, Kenyon Hiser, Bradley Sue LaFon Howell, Georgia Ann Carroll Kyser, Lawrence Marcus, Dodd Miller, Ken Morris, Boone Powell, Jr., Kyle Rains, Marvin Runyon, Joe Sholden, John Sholden, Ken Woodfin. 

2004 Inductees – Michelle Bobadilla, Mary Brinegar, Bill Cunningham, Vickers Cunningham, Buckner Fanning, Burton Gilliam, Gary Griffith, James Rogers, Toby Shook, Peggy Hill Taylor, George N. Zarafonetis. 

2009 Inductees – Ed Bentley, Elizabeth Cupples Blessing, Alan Bromberg, Bob English, Neil “Skip” Fletcher, Lawrence Good, Bob Goodrich, Tracy Hiser Harding, Phil Johnson, Larry Karl III, William Lewis Lester, John Paul McCrumbly, Mariano Martinez, Steve Miller, Danielle Drury Petters, Marjorie Hardwick Schramel, Inez Sookma, Barbara Galleher Tonry, Ruth Allen Vail, Lawrence “Larry” George Wright, G.L.  “Pop” Ashburn, Wayne Pierce. 

2014 Inductees – Louise M. Woerner Sellers, Ruth Allen Mewhinney, M.D., Mark Goode, Jr., Peter Harris Pappas, Charles Robert “Dr. Bob” Smith, M.D., Neill McFarland, Ph.D., Chris P. Xeros, Charles B. Key, M.D., William J. (“Bill”) O’ Neil, Lt. Col. Edwin L. Atterberry, Thomas A. “Tom” Tombrello, Ph.D., Barbara Byrd Adamson, Mary Beth Coniglio Rogers, Harvey Wiggins, John Robert “Bobby” May, Phillip Shinoda, Ph.D., Joseph Michael “Dusty” Hill, Terry S. Maness, Ph.D., John D. “Jay” Settle, J.D., Emily Sherrill Weadock, Abel Gonzales, Joaquin Zihuataneo, Travis H. Willingham, Jesus “Jesse” Moreno, Jr., Theo “Cotton” Miles. For further information about the school’s 90th Anniversary celebration or the Woodrow Wilson High School Hall of Fame, visit the Woodrow Wilson High School Alumni Association website at wwhsaa.org.