Mentorship program proves successful

By Harriet P. Gross

Photo courtesy of White Rock Rotary
Pictured with White Rock Rotary’s Scholarship Chair Roger Pryor (front) and President Helen Stetler (second from right, in back) are the Molotsky Scholarship winners for 2019 who were honored at a recent club meeting. From left are Bosco Nkunzurwanda, Yemi Abou, Esperanza Orozco, Edith Nwosu, Barbara Raygoza and Ana Acosta.

With the ending of the school year, White Rock Rotary announced the winners of its six Molotsky Scholarships for 2019. They are given annually to graduating seniors at Lake Highlands High School in memory of the late Leonard Molotsky, a club member who served for more than a decade as deputy superintendent in the Richardson School District. 

 This year’s recipients, and the Texas schools they will attend, are Yemi Abou: Hardin-Simmons University, Abilene; Ana Acosta, Tarleton State University, Stephenville; Edith Nwosu, choice of Texas Tech or UT-Arlington; Bosco Nkunzurwanda, UT-Arlington; Esperanza Orozco, UT-San Antonio; and Barbara Raygoza, Texas State University, San Marcos. All were honored as guests of the club at a recent luncheon meeting.

 Rotarian Roger Pryor, who chairs White Rock’s scholarship program, also leads the ongoing mentoring of the club’s scholarship awardees. He recently reported that Madison Monzingo, a 2015 Molotsky Scholarship recipient, has graduated Cum Laude from UT-Dallas with a B.S. degree in mechanical engineering, and that 2017 Molotsky awardee Maybelin Benitez has received her A.A. in science with honors from Richland College, and will now also attend UT-Dallas to earn a degree in education. He has also heard from another 2015 Molotsky Scholarship recipient who is graduating this month from the University of Arkansas with a degree in finance and will be heading immediately to Oregon for a job in wealth management.