Nominate your favorite teacher now!

By Deborah Brown

The Greater East Dallas Chamber of Commerce is soliciting nominations for its annual Teacher of the Year Award. The purpose is to recognize educators who are providing outstanding education for their respective students. Recipients of this award must have made significant contributions toward innovative, unique and novel programs that are serving to improve and promote education.

There will be awards for Elementary School, Middle School and High School for both public and private schools in the East Dallas. A total of six awards will be presented.

 Nominations are being solicited from the Education Community, from the Chamber Board of Directors and from Chamber membership. The awards event will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 19 at Lakehill Preparatory Schools Alice and Erle Nye Family Environmental Science Center located at 7401 Ferguson Road (on the northwest quadrant of Ferguson Road and I-30).

All nominations must be submitted online before the Oct. 12 deadline. 

Below are the criteria for the nominees 


Individuals employed as full-time classroom/laboratory/teachers and coaches are eligible for this award.

1. PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE: The nominee demonstrates instructional expertise, creativity and innovation. The nominee uses a variety of techniques to effectively address students’ different learning styles and needs. 

2. COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT: The nominee frequently interacts with community members on substantive education issues. 

3. LEADERSHIP IN PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT: The nominee continually engages in experience to improve his or her practice and to gain new skills and knowledge. The nominee shares this new learning with colleagues in a variety of venues. 

4. ATTENTION TO DIVERSITY: The nominee works to provide a learning environment that meets the needs of all students, regardless of differences. 

For further information, contact the Chamber office at 214-328-4100.