Press Club honors talent

Photo courtesy of the Press Club of Dallas

Eleven North Texas journalists were recognized with the industry’s prestigious lifetime excellence award, the Legends of North Texas Journalism, from the Press Club of Dallas on October 13 at the Texas Theatre. “We celebrated the talent and endurance of 11 extraordinary people” said Paul Wahlstrom, Press Club president. The honorees were selected by a committee of Legend members (Hugh Aynesworth, David Finfrock, John Lumpkin, John Sparks, Janet St. James, Carlton Stowers and Rick Wamre). Recipient and those in attendance enjoyed a reception catered by Taco Y Vino, followed by the awards ceremony emceed by Karen Borta. The 2022 honorees are: Ed Bark, The Dallas Morning News, unclebarky; Karen Blumenthal (posthumous) The Dallas Morning News, Wall Street Journal; Cheryl Hall, The Dallas Morning News; Molly Ivins (posthumous) The Dallas Times Herald, Fort Worth Star Telegram; Verne Lundquist, WFAA-TV, CBS Network; Murphy Martin (posthumous) WFAA-TV, ABC Network; Scott McCartney, AP Dallas, Wall Street Journal; Laura Miller, The Dallas Morning News, Dallas Observer; Liz Oliphant, APR, Bob Schieffer, Fort Worth Star-Telegram, CBS Network; and Brett Shipp, WFAA-TV, Spectrum News. — From Staff Reports