Shaping lives earns teachers awards

Six East Dallas teachers received Teacher of the Year awards by the Greater East Dallas Chamber of Commerce at a luncheon on Nov. 19 at Lakehill Preparatory’s Alice and Erle Nye Family Environmental Science Center. The event was sponsored by Oncor and Comerica. The winners are: Jennifer Edoghotu, L. L. Hotchkiss Elementary School; Michael Jones, J. L. Long Middle School; Jose Delgado, Bryan Adams High School; Jhoana Cayme, Mosley Lakehill Preparatory School; Anna Smith, Dallas Academy; and Tim Hagood, Lakehill Preparatory School. Each winner received a $250 gift card and each school received a $250 check. Each has clearly been an inspiration to countless children and has shaped the lives of future generations who have passed through their classroom. 

                — Deborah Brown