Police host virtual/in-person celebration

By Becky Mayad

In lieu of a banquet dinner, Dallas Police Chief U. Reneé Hall joins Friends of Dallas Police leaders to present Officer of the Year, Non-Sworn Employee of the Year, Rookie of the Year and other awards during a virtual/in-person “hybrid” celebration honoring those who went above and beyond the call of duty. From rescue recoveries surrounding the Oct. 20 tornado that ripped through Dallas to take-downs of dangerous organized crime groups to hostage rescues and more, the 39th annual Friends of the Dallas Police Awards Ceremony will honor 224 stand-out officers and non-sworn employees of the Dallas Police Department Tuesday, Nov. 10 at 6:15 p.m. via a virtual/in-person livestreamed celebration. While some awards will be presented virtually, the nominees of major awards will attend a socially distanced style event at Gilley’s Dallas. Media are invited to watch the livestream. 

The Dallas Police Honor Guard will present the colors, and Officer Charles Vaughn of the Dallas Police Choir will perform the National Anthem. Dallas Police Chaplain Andrew Paley will deliver the invocation.

The major awards to be presented are the John T. McCarthy Police Officer of the Year, James Taylor Non-Sworn Employee of the Year, James R. Leavelle Detective of the Year, Marvin R. Bullard Supervisor of the Year, Field Training Officer of the Year, Non-Sworn Supervisor of the Year, Johnny Sides Rookie of the Year and the Joe C. Jones Reserve Officer of the Year. 

Fox 4 anchor and reporter Clarice Tinsley will serve as master of ceremonies, and Catherine Cuellar of the City of Dallas will be the onsite emcee. RSVP by Friday, Nov. 6, to becky@mayadpr.com. A personal “ticketed” link will be sent once RSVP is received. Nominees and award recipients will gather at Gilley’s Dallas to be honored in person.